Pope Francis has named no less than 27 bishops today to be members of the Congregation for Divine Worship and Discipline of the Sacraments (CDWDS, or more commonly CDW). With these appointments, Pope Francis has given a quite clear indication of the direction he has in mind for the liturgical life of the church.

Among those named are Archbishop Piero Marini, longtime MC to John Paul II who was secretary to Archbishop Bugnini, architect of the post-conciliar liturgical reforms, Secretary of State Pietro Parolin, Cardinal Stella of the Congregation for Clergy, and Cardinal Ravasi, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture.

According to the Annuario Pontificio, among those who have belonged to the CDW up until now are Cardinals Raymond Burke, George Pell, and Mauro Piacenza. They will no longer serve as members with today’s appointments.

Writing at The Tablet, Christopher Lamb stated that

[t]he move will be read as the Pope’s attempt to rein in the cardinal [Cardinal Sarah, prefect of the CDW – ed.] who has consistently called for priests to celebrate Mass facing East, something the Pope reprimanded him for earlier this year.

Here is the full list.

Rainer Maria Woelki, Cologne, Germany;
John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan, Abuja, Nigeria;
Pietro Parolin, Secretary of State;
Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, Québec, Canada;
Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso;
John Atcherley Dew, Wellington, New Zealand;
Ricardo Blázquez Pérez, Valladolid, Spain;
Arlindo Gomes Furtado, Santiago de Cabo Verde, Capo Verde;
Gianfranco Ravasi, Pontifical Council for Culture;
Beniamino Stella, Congregation for Clergy;

Dominic Jala, Shillong, India;
Domenico Sorrentino, Assisi‑Nocera Umbra‑Gualdo Tadino, Italy;
Denis James Hart, Melbourne, Australia;
Piero Marini, President of pontifical committee for Eucharistic congresses;
Bernard‑Nicolas Aubertin, Tours, France;
Romulo G. Valles, Davao, Philippines;
Lorenzo Voltolini Esti, Portoviejo, Ecuador;

Arthur Joseph Serratelli, Paterson, NJ, USA;
Alan Stephen Hopes, East Anglia, Great Britain;
Claudio Maniago, Castellaneta, Italy;
Bernt Ivar Eidsvig, Oslo, Norway;
Miguel Ángel D’Annibale, Rio Gallegos, Argentina;
José Manuel Garcia Cordeiro, Bragança‑Miranda, Portugal;
Charles Morerod, Lausanne, Geneva and Fribourg, Switzerland;
Jean‑Pierre Kwambamba Masi, auxiliary of Kinshasa, Congo;
Benny Mario Travas, Multan, Pakistan;
John Bosco Chang Shin‑Ho, auxiliary of Daegu, Korea.

Send to Kindle