To All Pray Tell Readers

Happy Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God in the Octave of Christmas, formerly the Circumcision, which is World Day of Prayer for Peace, in the Anglican Communion: Holy Name of Jesus… to one and all.

I suppose some are saying “Happy New Year” today. But that’s like saying “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas.” So I’m saying the above to everyone I meet today.

I’m sure you’ll want to do the same. No?

awr

9 comments

  1. And of course, Happy feasts of the Circumcision of Our Lord, God, and Saviour Jesus Christ and of St. Basil the Great to the Eastern Catholic/Orthodox Churches using the new calendar.

  2. O admirabile commercium!
    Atque, Dom Anthony, pray tell how do you get anyone to stop long enough and interrupt their busy-ness so you can make your Holy Day Proclamation? It is akin to a cursus brevis in salvation history!
    Or have the frigid temps of the Minn. Tundra
    lowered the blood of the monks to Slo-Mo so they are more prone to incline the ears of the heart to the words of the Prophet in the Mist?
    Dic mihi/nobis.
    Dom Gerald

  3. We should give the World Day of Prayer for Peace more attention.

    To facilitate this I suggest allowing a Mass for Peace to fulfill the holy day obligation if it is celebrated any time that it is January 1st somewhere in the world even if it is December 31st or January 2nd local time.

    In other words the World Day of Prayer for Peace would begin at midnight on Christmas Island (the first place were a date touches) which occurs on 5:00 am New York time, 10:00am London, 11:00am Rome and noon Jerusalem time on December 31st

    It would end at 24 hours after midnight on January 1st on American Somoa (the last place a date leaves ) which occurs at 6:00am New York time, 11:00am London time, 12:00 noon Rome, and 1:00pm Jerusalem time on January 2nd

    If you wish to figure out the implications for other places in the world you may find this link helpful http://www.worldtimezone.com/newyear.html

    The Pope attracted a lot of attention without much notice when he had a prayer vigil for peace in Rome. The World Day of Prayer for Peace might attract similar attention if we give people sufficient flexibility and opportunities to observe it.

    In keeping with the Joy of the Gospel, the main idea would be to surround the customary joy of welcoming the New Year with many opportunities both locally and internationally to turn our attention to world peace. The prayerful opportunities could be prayer services such as Francis had in Rome. His included the rosary, Eucharistic adoration, a scripture service, and part of the Liturgy of the Hours.

    Most parishes in my area offer few opportunities to go to Mass because few people show up. However that might change if the emphasis was placed on the World Day of Prayer for Peace and we opened up the time frame. My impression is that a lot of people take off work on December 31st like they take off work on December 24th. I suspect that is one reason late afternoon Masses have become so popular on December 24th.

    There has been an attempt to make New Year’s Eve a less alcoholic and more family friendly celebration around the idea of First Night. The World Day of Prayer for Peace would just expand those opportunities which could include various educational and social events related to world peace.

    Since Peace on Earth has been such an important part of Christmas this would be a step toward the recovery of the Twelve Days of Christmas.

  4. Yes. This is a great way to take time, share time and enjoy time with everyone we meet today and tomorrow and …
    So, “Happy Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God in the Octave of Christmas, formerly the Circumcision, which is World Day of Prayer for Peace, in the Anglican Communion: Holy Name of Jesus… to one and all.”
    And Happy ‘nother Year!
    Paz y Bien, Rolando, OFS.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *